12 Hours in November

Gerry Gouy
2 min readNov 16, 2017

In the space of just a few hours today, my team got to the World Cup, the longtime dictator of my first country got deposed, and marriage equality finally came to my third (and favorite) country.

In the words of Ice Cube, today was a good day.

When I was an [almost] teenager, newly arrived in Australia from war-torn Africa, I would day dream about returning home when the war was over.

At 22 I was on my first global backpacking mission, and I discovered that football (soccer) is the greatest single globalizing force in the world.

And after I left Australia in my 30s, it was football (soccer) that made me realize how connected I am to that place (OZ), regardless of where I live.

Regardless of the multiple citizenships and residencies I hold, there was only one country I was shouting for on the 22nd of June 2006 when Croatia played Australia in their final Group F match of the 2006 World Cup. Google it.

Today’s events are connected for me directly. They show how globalization is an unstoppable and [mostly] positive force. Discrimination eventually ends, Dictators eventually get pushed out, and football [soccer] minnows eventually rise.

Despite other setbacks, the world lurches unstoppably to #Liberalism.

History generally ends one way and we’re on the right side (we know who #WE are)

#Eventually

--

--

Gerry Gouy

New York-based global citizen, believer in rationalism, modernity and 80s pop. Global media exec by day, writer and photographer by night.